Which type of crochet hook do you prefer?

Whether you like aluminum, bamboo, or just plain old plastic crochet hooks, you still have to pick a style of hook.  The two main ones are the in-line Susan Bates type hooks and the Boye type hooks with the nipped in neck.  Most people have a strong preference and detest the other type.  My preference is the Susan Bates type which also has a slightly more pointed end and a rounder curve to the end of the hook.  I feel they slip through the yarn a bit easier and they are always the ones I recommend to beginners.  I can use the Boye type hooks with no problem but when I have a choice I will choose the Susan Bates ones.  Which type hook is your favorite?

hooks

Susan Bates hooks on the left and Boye hooks on the right

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in crochet, hooks, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which type of crochet hook do you prefer?

  1. jo creates says:

    when I was learning I found the Susan Bates ones invaluable! like you say they slip very nicely. I have a cheapo set now with a cushioned handle that I love though! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

