Wilton Cake Decorating Class

first-cakeAfter watching people take them at Michaels for 3 years now, I finally decided to take the plunge and do Wilton Course 1 – Building Buttercream Skills.  Today was our second class and we torted (cut into two layers) and filled an 8 inch cake then iced it.  Although you can’t see it, there is home made strawberry filling between the layers, and yes I made the cake from scratch.  I haven’t cut it yet, but hopefully it will be good. 🙂

The class is fun and I am learning a lot of basic decorating skills.  I had never tried decorating with tips and piping bags and such before, so it is all new to me.  Employees get to take the classes for free but you still have to buy the kit, book, and all the various supplies.  I would guess before I get finished it will be close to $200 for all the stuff you have but buy, including all the icing and cakes/cupcakes you have to make. That is really the goal of the classes, to get you to buy more stuff in the store and it really shows here.

Interesting fact:  There is no butter in buttercream icing that you use for decorating.  It is made with shortening (special high ratio shortening is preferred) so it stays snowy white and won’t melt as badly in hot cake-slicedrooms.

Update:  Here is the cake after slicing.  Tasted good and the tart strawberry (I didn’t add any sugar to it) helps offset the super sweet icing.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in baking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

