Crochet Baby Elephant

oliver-elephant1One of the girls in the Michaels store I work at is pregnant and we are going to throw her a baby shower in October.  She already knows it will be a boy and is decorating his room in elephants so I decided to make her an amigurumi elephant as a present since there are several knitters there who will probably have the blankets and clothes covered.  This one is from the Oliver the Elephant free pattern on amigurumipatterns.netoliver-elephant3

I wanted him to turn out a bit larger than the pattern so I used Red Heart Soft worsted weight yarn and a size G hook.

It took me two days to finish, one for the head and body and one for the ears, legs, and tail.  I added a removable ruffled collar (closes with a button) for a bit of color and embroidered the eyes.  He is about 8 inches long and I think he turned out pretty cute.  oliver-elephant2

Hopefully she will like him!

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in amigurumi, crochet, elephant and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crochet Baby Elephant

  1. That is adorable! I’m sure it will be loved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

