Lovely Maria wins the Kentucky Oaks

kentucky-oaks-winnerThe Kentucky Oaks was today at Churchill Downs and Lovely Maria won it for trainer Larry Jones and owner former Kentucky Governor Brereton Jones (not related) with 56 year old jockey Kerwin “Boo Boo” Clark aboard for the biggest win of his 40 year career.  Larry Jones nearly died in a fall from a horse (he rides all the horses he trains for their morning workouts himself) but he was back in the saddle training this filly all week.  The connections are nice people and very honored to have won this race again.  This was the third time the two have teamed up to win the Oaks.  You can see more of my photos from the Kentucky Oaks here.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in horse racing, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

