Thursday in Lexington

thundergulchToday I went with a group to Lexington and saw some horse farms instead of staying at Churchill Downs.  Here is Thunder Gulch age 23, the 3rd oldest living Kentucky Derby winner behind Sea Hero and Go For Gin.  He won the Kentucky Derby in 1995 and retired with earnings of almost $3 million and 9 wins in 16 lifetime races.  He stood as a stallion at Ashford Stud where he lives now as a pensioner (i.e. retired) living a life of leisure.  He still looks pretty good for an old guy! For those who don’t know, most thoroughbreds live about 25-30 years if there are no accidents or health issues.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in horse racing, Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

