Spiral crochet Barbie couture

spiral-barbie1This weekend I will be going down to Turfway Park in Florence, KY, to cover the Spiral Stakes for my website Horse-Races.Net  which inspired me to create a spiral Barbie dress.  It starts at the bottom and spirals upward in alternating rows of off white and forest green, ending in an over the shoulder strap that buttons in the front.  It was quite interesting to set up the spiral and work in two colors of thread at the same time, working one a row around and then going to the other to catch up, but still doing the increases and decreases to make it fit her body and varying the width of the rows at times.  It was harder once I got to the part where I had to leave the back open so you could get it on and still keep the spiral going.

spiral-barbie2When  the spiral gets to the top, the end of it comes off the back on one side and wraps around the opposite shoulder to button in the front center.  It closes in the back with two snaps I also created a simple spiral hat to match that stays on with clear elastic thread and a green and pearl stretch bracelet.

This one was fun and challenging to make and I think it turned out pretty good.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in barbie, crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spiral crochet Barbie couture

  1. Awesome piece, and the colors certainly match the day. 🙂 Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

