My most ambitious Barbie couture yet

bronzebeads-barbie11This one is heavily beaded which takes a ton of extra work.  If you have never done beaded crochet, you have to load all the beads on the thread before you start to crochet, then you pull a single bead into each stitch as you go.   I had to use #30 thread for this one as the #10 was too thick for the tiny bugle beads I was using to fit over.  I used ivory thread and beads in gold, bronze, and copper.  I added a couple of accent stripes in the skirt in metallic gold #10 thread.  I considered adding straps or sleeves, but thought it was too pretty as it to change it.

bronzebeads-barbie2The bodice, waist, and hem are all beaded.  I made a two strand necklace from the same beads using a sterling silver jump ring and a silver plated ball head pin to make the clasp.  The bracelet is on elastic thread using the same beads plus a couple of larger ones in gold and bronze.  The hat/fascinator is crochet from the same thread as the dress with the same beads plus matching crystal rondelles and is held on by a clear elastic string.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in barbie, crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My most ambitious Barbie couture yet

  1. Wow! That is stunning. You did a fantastic job with this. I love how the metallic colors work together to make it pop. You did a great job on color choice and craftsmanship. Well done!

    Like

    • sysclp says:

      Thanks! This was a tough one with all those beads. Took about 3 times as long as usual. I have it listed on my etsy store for $30 which is probably too low but I can’t see anyone paying much more for it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

