Every Barbie needs a bathing suit!

yellow-barbie-1I had this lovely sunny yellow variegated crochet thread that I got at a thrift store and it just screamed beach outfit to me.  I did the bikini first then the hat with bead hat band and a bead bracelet and necklace to match.  I thought she needed a cover up  so I did an open weave shawl that can be used on her shoulders or tied around her waist.  Finally I thought she needed some shoes so I crocheted some sandals for her.

yellow-barbie-2yellow-barbie-5

I have found a lot of crochet thread in thrift stores, so I have quite a supply available now, including some colors they don’t make anymore.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in barbie, crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Every Barbie needs a bathing suit!

  1. Wow! Another stunning outfit. I wish I could crochet as quickly as you do.

    Like

    • sysclp says:

      LOL! I guess I am pretty fast, takes about 6 to 8 hours to finish a dress and figure out accessories for it. I have so much thread that these are calling me to work on them. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      • I love your colors, too. I am working up my cache of crochet thread to have fun colors. I just found some golden metallic that I am itching to make something with! I totally understand when the yarn calls. lol

        Like

      • sysclp says:

        One of the dresses I posted uses that metallic gold from Lydia’s. I was surprised at how little was on the spool compared to the regular thread. Took almost the entire spool for one dress and it was very twisty and difficult to use compared to the regular thread as well. The older metallic stuff I found as the thrift store was much longer and didn’t twist so badly.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

