Lion Brand Tweed Stripes yarn review

tweedcowlI had used this type of yarn before in another color (Seashell, see my top banner), but I found some in Orchid at Joann’s in the US about a month ago and got a couple of skeins since the stores here in Canada don’t usually carry it.  It comes in 3oz (85g) skeins that are 144 yards /132 meters long.  It is classified as bulky, but I would say it is on the light side of bulky, and calls for a size K hook.  It is two strands twisted and is self striping, graduating in colors over a fairly long span so you get a very nice striping effect.  It is nice and soft and very easy to work with.

I used it to make a fairly wide cowl using a pattern I kind of made up as I went along.  I did a chain the length I wanted it to be then went across in a pattern of single crochet (SC), double crochet (DC), triple crochet (TC), DC, then repeat all the way around.  In the next row I made the TC start on top of the SC in the previous row, the DC always was on the previous row DC, and the SC went on top of the previous row TC.  It made for a very nice texture and scalloping effect.

tweedhatI had part of a skein left so I made a hat with that one, using plain black Charisma yarn for the top part so I would have enough of the Tweed Stripes to finish the hat off.  I used a bit to make a flattened pom pom for the top to tie in the colors.

If I find this yarn again somewhere in another color, I would probably get more as I really liked it.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in crochet, pattern, yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lion Brand Tweed Stripes yarn review

  1. I love this kind of yarn. I just finished a blanket it this yarn and it is my favorite hands down. I love the colors that you picked for the scarf. Lovely job!!

    Like

  2. sysclp says:

    Thanks! I like it too and ordered some direct from Lion that was on sale for a very good price (check their website) since they don’t sell it at the stores here in Canada.

    Like

Leave a Reply

