Review: Niagara Stripe yarn by Loops & Threads

niagara1This is another of the new types of yarn brought in special for the sale last week at Michaels Canada that I had never seen before and decided to try.  This one is called Niagara Stripe and was regular $3.99 per skein, $1.99 during the sale, and $1.39 with my employee discount.  This is a medium or worsted weight yarn  and the label suggests using a size J hook.  It is 50% wool and 50% acrylic and can be hand washed and dried.  The skeins are 100g or 3.5 oz and 175 yard/160 meters long.  This is woven yarn rather than twisted strands and the color stripes are quite long so it gives good banding for self striping.  The skein pictured is Berries which has lime green, turquoise, and bright pink which gives a tropical feel.  It has a nice soft feel and a bit of a sheen to it.

niagara2It was very easy to work with, although you can get the tiny threads it is woven from caught if you aren’t careful when pulling a stitch through.   I made a pair of wrist warmers or fingerless gloves which turned out quite nice and I had a bit of the skein left over when I finished the pair.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in crochet, yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

