Basket weave-ish scarf pattern

first few rows

The first few rows of the scarf pattern

I wanted a scarf pattern with nice texture and visual interest, so after a bit of experimentation I came up with this one.  It combines a bit of open weave down the center with sort of basket weave or chain pattern down each side.  I did my initial sample in a solid color and connected the ends to make an infinity scarf.  The reverse side has a different texture so it cane be worn with eight side up for a different look.

The front of the scarf

The front of the scarf showing the open weave and basket/chain weave textures.

I used worsted weight (medium) yarn and an H hook (5mm) which turned out about 6 1/2 inches wide.  If you prefer a looser weave, move up to an I hook but the scarf will be a bit wider.

Abbreviations:
fdc – foundation double crochet.  You can substitute a chain and double crochets as long as you end up with 24 stiches to work off of.
dc – double crochet
fpdc – front post double crochet.  Be sure to pull up your yarn when you do these so the stitch is long enough to match the height of the surrounding double crochets.
bpdc – back post double crochet.  Same here, pull up your yarn.
ch – chain

The back of the scarf

The back of the scarf showing the different texture

If you are better at front post double crochet than back post, just switch rows 2 and 3 so you are doing 4 fpdc  and 2 bpdc.  The pattern will come out the same just start in a different spot.  When you are going across the chain 1 spaces, go through the holes and not the stitches with your double crochets.

Row 1:  fdc 24 chain 3 and turn
Row 2:  dc*2, fpdc, dc*3, fpdb, dc*2, (ch1,dc)*3, dc, fpdc, dc*3, fpdc, dc*3, chain 3 and turn
Row 3:  (dc, bpdc)*4, dc*2, (ch1, dc)*2, (dc, bpdc)*4, dc, chain 3 and turn

basket weave scarf

A view of my basket weave-ish scarf at an angle so you can see the textures.

Repeat rows 3 and 4 to desired length and finish off with a row of 24 dc for a straight scarf.  You can add a fringe if desired.  For an infinity scarf, leave off the final row of 24 dc and sew ends together.  Be sure to weave in any loose ends when you finish.

About sysclp

I do a lot of different things. I am a horse racing photographer, I make jewelry, and I crochet. Here I will mostly concentrate on crochet. I live in Ontario, Canada, now but I am from the deep South and lived in Alabama before I moved here.
This entry was posted in craft, crochet, pattern, yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

